Michigan Rugby Elects New Officers, Celebrates Season

The boys of Michigan Rugby took a break from studying for finals Wednesday night to choose officers for the 2013 calendar year. The team elected Ian Etheart for a second term as club President, and after multiple tie votes, CJ Stock was elected to assist Ian as Vice President. Kenny Andutan and Chris Padmos were chosen to take over as the team’s Captian and Assistant Captian. John Palladino was elected as the team’s CFO, and Christian Mentzer and Jackson Wagner will be the new Social and Publicity chairmen.

The team selected Ben Shapiro to be Merchandise Manager and Brandon Gardner to be the Technology/Media Manager. Michael Manzano will be the new Webmaster while Joel Conzelmann will be the new Volunteer/Service Coordinator. Jared Bosma was elected as the new Match Coordinator, while Mark Borowski will be the new Alumni Representative, and Jeff Smith will take over as Equipment Manager.

Besides electing new officers, the team also held their annual fall formal on November 30 at Grizzly Peak where they announced the team award winners for the fall season.

The awards went to:

  1. Arnold Cowmeadow Award – Mike LaCivita
  2. Top Back – Joel Conzelmann
  3. Top Forward – Dave Hiltzik
  4. Top Freshman – Brennan Arnett
  5. Most Improved – Matt Pilon
  6. Coach’s Award – Pete Melgren

Congratulations to the newly elected officers, to those who won awards, and to the team for a great 2012 season as everyone looks forward to an even better year in 2013.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>